Chapter History

On December 29, 1921, the ninth chapter of Delta Sigma Theta, Iota chapter was founded in Boston with seventeen members. This city chapter was a mixed undergraduate and graduate chapter. As time went on, it became evident that the single chapter needed to become separate chapters: one for undergraduates and the other to address the needs of members who were in graduate programs, working professionals and running households. Thus, Alpha Omicron Sigma chapter was chartered on March 12, 1945 as a graduate chapter for the members of Iota to transition into after completing their studies. In November of 1958, as a part of national policy, graduate chapters became identified by the city or state in which they were located. Alpha Omicron Sigma became Boston Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta, Inc.

For nearly seventy years, Boston Alumnae Chapter has been actively engaged in public service throughout the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, with a primary focus on the Metropolitan Boston area.   We remain steadfast in our commitment to produce quality programs and projects which are in line with our National Five Point Programmatic Thrust. See our Program and Projects Page for the current programs and project of the chapter. We also Host and Co Sponsor a number of events throughout the year which serve to educate our community or raise funds to support our public service initiatives.

Charter Members

Mildred Alexander

Evelyn Andrews

E. Marion Bennett

Edith G. Brown

Evelyn Johnson Cardoza

Virginia T. Crutchfield

Myrtis Andrews Freeman

Mariette B. Hardiman

Estelle Henderson

Vivian Hodge

Frankie Taylor Honesty

Agatha Guilford Howard

Mildred Isaacs

Harriet McLean

Dorothy E. Newton

Inez Russell

Winifred States Freeze

Frances Teixeira Perkins*

Marie Rudd Thomas

Harriet Banks Wharton

Gladys Wood*